Immigration Direct

Form Services - Simplifying Immigration®

Chile Nominated for Visa Waiver Program

June 5th, 2013 by sysadmin

Chile VisaChile’s president Sebastian Piñera said Monday that Chile’s addition to the Visa Waiver Program could happen soon.

The Visa Waiver Program allows people from certain countries to travel to the U.S. without a U.S. visa for a period of 90 days. Travelers still have to be approved through ESTA, the Electronic System for Travel Authorization, which determines a person’s eligibility.

The Visa Waiver Program currently includes the following 37 countries: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, and the United Kingdom.

Visa Waiver Program Eligibility

This is how a country becomes and remains eligible for the visa waiver program:

  • The country also gives U.S. travelers the right to travel to that country for 90 days without a visa.
  • The country has a low rate of denied nonimmigrant U.S. visa applications
  • The country has a low rate of people who travel to the U.S. and are denied admission, withdraw their applications, and/or break the laws of the visa waiver program.
  • The country has machine-readable passports that are up to standard with what is internationally accepted.
  • The country is able to add biometric information to passports that is up to International Civil Aviation Organization standards.
  • The country quickly reports passport theft to the U.S. Government

Chile would become the only country from Latin America in the Visa Waiver Program.

Chile’s economy has been growing fast in the last few decades. In addition, Chile has recently signed pacts to take part in fighting terrorism and organized crime. Both of these help Chile’s chances for the U.S. Visa Waiver Program.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security will visit Chile and make sure that the country is in fact meeting all the requirements.

Each year, more than 200,000 people from Chile visit the U.S.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice. It is general information on issues commonly encountered when dealing with immigration matters. It should not be relied upon to reach any conclusion regarding any individual’s situation or case. Immigration Direct is not sponsored by or affiliated with the United States government or any government agency. We are not a law firm and are not a substitute for the advice of an attorney. Immigration Direct only provides self-help services at a user's direction. We do not provide legal advice, opinions or recommendations to our users about their legal rights, legal remedies, legal defenses, legal options or legal strategies, selection of forms, or answers to specific questions on forms. Customer support is for technical and billing issues. Customer support will not answer legal questions. Communications between you and Immigration Direct are not protected by any privilege. All forms that can be completed online through Immigration Direct are available as blank forms with written instructions for free from the USCIS. Purchase price does not include application or filing fees that may be charged by any government agency. Your access to and use of this website, and any purchase made using this website, is subject to Immigration Direct's Terms of Use to which, by using this site and/or making any purchase, you are agreeing to be bound.

Copyright © 2007-2014 Immigration Direct. All Rights Reserved.